Back to Oceania

New Zealand

New Zealand is an island country in the south-western Pacific Ocean comprising two main landmasses (the North Island and the South Island) and numerous smaller islands, most notably Stewart Island and the Chatham Islands.

New Zealand has had a uniform and equal age of consent of 16, regardless of sexual orientation and/or gender since the passage of the Homosexual Law Reform Act in 1986. All territories of New Zealand have legalized homosexuality in 2007 (except for the Cook Islands as shown below) LGBT rights in New Zealand under the Niue Amendment Act 2007

In the Cook Islands there is no minimum age of consent for boys, although sodomy is illegal at any age (s155) and it is illegal for men aged 21 or more to commit indecent acts on boys under the age of 15 (s153).